Our United Way
Mission Statement

We are UNITED in improving health, education and financial stability

as a WAY to strengthen the Upper Ohio Valley.

Service Area

The United Way of the Upper Ohio Valley serves Brooke, Ohio, Marshall and Wetzel Counties in West Virginia, and Belmont and part of Monroe Counties in Ohio.  To the left is a map showing the service area.

Bio: Jason Haswell (President)

Jason C. Haswell is the Managing Director and Senior Wealth Advisor for The Monteverde Group, LLC here in Wheeling. He is a Magna Cum Laude graduate of Bethany College with a Bachelor of Arts in History. Jason has 17 years experience in the investment and financial planning industry. Jason offers securities and investment advisor services through NFP Securities, Inc. member FINRA/SIPC. He has extensive experience in investment management, estate and retirement planning. Jason has been involved with the United Way of the Upper Ohio Valley for a number of years as an active volunteer serving on various committees, the board of directors and helping with special events. He is an active supporter of West Virginia University as a member of the Woodburn Circle Society, as well as The Mountaineer Athletic Club. Jason has served on the Board of Directors for the Community Foundation for the Ohio Valley and Make A Wish for Northern West Virginia, and has served as past chairman for the Scramble for Scouting annual golf event, which benefits the Boy Scouts of America.

Rod Haley (Vice-President)

Rodney Haley is the Executive Vice President of Operations for the Wheeling Park Commission. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration with a specialization in Accounting from West Liberty State College in addition to various certificates from educational programs at Penn State University and Cornell University. Rodney has lived and worked in the Wheeling area his entire life and, through the United Way, has used his skills to help make necessary programs available to others. Rodney became involved with the United Way of the Upper Ohio Valley to support its Mission of attaining a high quality of life for individuals living in the Upper Ohio Valley. He has worked on various projects through his committees and serves as an active volunteer for the many fundraisers and special events held in the community.

2018-2019 Board of Directors

President – Jason C. Haswell

Vice President – Rodney Haley

Secretary – James Squibb

Treasurer – William Wagner

Campaign Chair – Joelle Moray



Sam Ames
Erika Baldauff
Carla Bell
Brian Breyer
Dr. Frank Carenbauer, III
Josh Contraguerro
Todd Cover
Brenda Danehart
Megan Denny
Eric Fithyan
Kim Florence
Michael Gallaway
Donna Holmbnerg-Grigsby
Karin Janisewski
Joe Lovell
Lindsey McGlaughlin
Lori McGlumphy
Joelle Moray
Valerie Piko
Bernadette Smith
Dawn Zenner-Gaudi


Meet our Board Of Directors

Click here for Board of Directors Q&A.


Our Staff

Executive Director – Jessica Rine

Associate Director – Melynda Sampson

Accounting Clerk – Pam Neider

Campaign and Marketing Support – Tammy Cecil

Data Entry and Office Support- Carla Dietrich