WV 211

Posted 04/01/19 by Jessica Rine

 

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE                                                                 April 1, 2019

 

CONTACT:    Margaret O’Neal, 304-340-3502

President and CPO United Way of Central WV

United Ways Launch Revamped Statewide 2-1-1 Information Line

CHARLESTON, WV: The United Ways of West Virginia officially launched their revamped statewide information line, 2-1-1, today, making it the first statewide collaborative project ever undertaken by all 14 individual United Ways.

2-1-1 is a telephone number that links callers to health and human service information and referral through trained certified specialists. The 2-1-1 services are free and available 24-hours a day. Anyone can call 2-1-1 to have their questions answered about services in their specific area. The specialist will ask the caller questions in order to find the right services available.

“United Way’s new 2-1-1 will make information on a wide variety of local support services more accessible across our entire state,” said United Way of Central WV President, Margaret O’Neal. “Whether it’s information for locating a health clinic, finding child care programs, or getting housing assistance, 2-1-1 is an easy-to-remember, go-to resource for individuals and families.”

The program originally started in the 1990’s and was run by a separate non-profit. The United Ways have taken over management and governance of the line to better align it with the communities across West Virginia. When callers dial 2-1-1, they are asked to enter their zip code, which then directs them to the correct United Way to handle their request. During evening and weekend hours, United Way has partnered with First Choice Services as their call center. The line is available 24 hours a day, 365 days a year.

“It was important to us to partner with a call center that understands the needs of individuals in a crisis,” added Brett White, Executive Director of the United Way of Marion County. “First Choice has extensive experience working with several other hotlines and social service call numbers.”

Barbara Mallory serves as WV 2-1-1 Director.  “2-1-1 is critical to our communities, because it can literally save lives. During a crisis, individuals and families can receive help finding services, including mental health counseling, food, shelter, and clothing,” said Mallory. “Also during natural disasters and significant crisis situations, 2-1-1 is used for non-emergency calls, freeing up the 9-1-1 call center lines.

In coming weeks, service providers will be able to view information online at wv211.org. You are encouraged to submit a request through the website to update information so real-time updates can be made. If you would like more information on the program, dial 2-1-1.

###

 

United Way Director Email
United Way of Central WV Margaret O’Neal moneal@unitedwaycwv.org
United Way of Mon & Preston Brandi Helms brandi@unitedwaympc.org
United Way of Southern WV Michelle Rotellini mrotellini@unitedwayswv.org
United Way of Marion County Brett White brett@uwmarion.org
United Way of Harrison County Tina Yoke tyoke@unitedwayhcwv.org
United Way Mid-Ohio Valley Alliance Stacey DeCicco sdecicco@uwamov.com
United Way of Greenbrier Valley Erin Hurst erinhurst@unitedwaygbv.org
United Way of Eastern Panhandle Penny Porter pporter@uwayep.org
United Way of River Cities Carol Bailey carol.bailey@unitedwayrivercities.org
United Way of Lewis, Gilmer Becky Sias lcunitedway@citynet.net
Weirton United Way Linda Stear lstear@weirtonunitedway.com
United Way Upper Ohio Valley Jessica Rine jrine@unitedwayuov.org
County United Way Julie McCoy juli@cuw.org