About UsOur United Way.

“We are UNITED in improving health, education and financial stability as a WAY to strengthen the Upper Ohio Valley.”

Let Us HelpLooking for a place to donate near you?

What does your local the United Way do?

The United Way of the Upper Ohio Valley raises money through an annual campaign comprised of special events, employee payroll deduction campaigns and corporate partnerships. The support from the annual campaign combines donations from community minded people and businesses that is then allocated out to nonprofit programs through our volunteer allocations panels. We support 40 programs in the upper Ohio Valley that tackle the toughest needs in the Ohio Valley.

Are you looking for a place to donate money in the upper Ohio Valley, but aren’t sure where there is the biggest need?

We can help. The United Way of the Upper Ohio Valley is the communities’ giving plan. Our team of committees and board members not only do the “checks and balances” to fund the programs that hit biggest needs in our community, but they also make sure that donations we receive are going the furthest they can to improve lives in this community.

Our Service AreaDonating through your local United Way is the best way to reach the most people in need.

The United Way of the upper Ohio Valley supports Brooke County, Ohio County, Marshall County, Wetzel County and Tyler County in West Virginia, and Belmont County and Monroe County in Ohio. Donating through your local United Way is the best way to reach the most people in need.

Want more information before deciding to donate your money to or advocate for the United Way of the Upper Ohio Valley — Check Out our Community Success Stories.

Are you looking for a place to donate money in Brooke County, WV(Wellsburg, Beech Bottom, Hooverson Heights, Follansbee, Bethany, Windsor Heights? Donate HERE.

Member Agencies & Funded Programs Where do your donations go?

Member Agencies

Meet the agencies that received funding from YOUR donations.

Funded Programs

We fund programs within agencies focusing on the communities’ toughest needs.

“Giving is not just about making a donation. It's about making a difference.”

Our PeopleStaff

Executive Director – Jessica Rine

Jessica Rine is a Wheeling native and a graduate of Wheeling Park High School and West Liberty University. She is a proud West Virginian and serves on a number of committees and boards throughout the community. Jess is an ambassador for the Wheeling Chamber of Commerce and the Wetzel County Chamber of Commerce. She serves on the board of directors for the Marshall County Chamber of Commerce and the St. Clairsville Area Chamber of Commerce. She is also past president of OVConnect(Generation Wheeling) and a board member for RED (Regional Economic Development Partnerships). She is an active Rotarian with the Rotary of St. Clairsville where she serves on the board of directors.

Jess received recognition as State Journal’s Generation Next: 40 under 40 in 2013 and is a 2019 graduate of Leadership West Virginia. She was honored at the 2019 Wheeling Park High School graduation as the Outstanding Alumnus where she gave the commencement speech to the graduating class.

Before joining the staff of United Way in 2017, she worked at WTRF-TV for 10 years as the Promotions Manager where she volunteered on the United Way marketing committee for 7 years. She became executive director of the United Way in April of 2018.

Jess lives in Moundsville and is the proud and blessed mother of Isabella, Miley and Jaxson.

Associate Director – Madison Taylor

Maddi grew up in Wheeling and has always wanted to live in the valley and start her life here. She attended Central Catholic High school and graduated in 2016. She is a recent graduate of West Virginia University and graduated with a Bachelor’s degree in Business Administration, majoring in Marketing with an area of emphasis in digital marketing promotions.

At WVU, she was a member of Alpha Phi Omega, a national service fraternity, and the women’s club basketball team. The last two summers she interned with the Civic Leaders Internship Program at the CFOV. She was placed to work with the Wheeling Nailers and at the Wheeling Convention and Visitors Bureau.

“On top of the program giving me real world experience that I cannot get from a classroom; the Civic Leaders Internship Program has shown me how the Ohio Valley is continuously growing and the efforts put forth to make that happen. This program has made me even more eager to return to the place I call home and aid in making Wheeling a city where people and businesses thrive. I was attracted to the United Way of the Upper Ohio Valley because of my background in community service. I instantly fell in love with their mission and values. I just knew I had to get this position because it was everything I could have ever asked for. I am thrilled to be in a position doing what I love and using my skills to help people and my community”, said Maddi.

President – Rod Haley

Rodney Haley is the Executive Vice President of Operations for the Wheeling Park Commission. He holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration with a specialization in Accounting from West Liberty State College in addition to various certificates from educational programs at Penn State University and Cornell University. Rodney has lived and worked in the Wheeling area his entire life and, through the United Way, has used his skills to help make necessary programs available to others. Rodney became involved with the United Way of the Upper Ohio Valley to support its Mission of attaining a high quality of life for individuals living in the Upper Ohio Valley. He has worked on various projects through his committees and serves as an active volunteer for the many fundraisers and special events held in the community.

Accounting Clerk

Pam Neider

Campaign and Marketing Support

Tammy Cecil

Data Entry and Office Support

Carla Scott

Our People2020-2021 Board of Directors


Rodney Haley

Vice President

Todd Cover


James Squibb


William Wagner

Campaign Chair

Jason Haswell


Rodney W. Haley, President
Todd Cover, Vice President
James G. Squibb, Secretary
William J. Wagner, Treasure
Sam Ames
Erika Baldauff
Carla Bell
Josh Contraguerro
Brenda Danehart
Michael Gallaway
Alishah Hardway
Kevin Heller
Walker Holloway
Kim Florence
Karin Janisewski
Joe Lovell
Tony Martinelli
Lindsey McGlaughlin
Joelle Moray
Valarie Piko
Ryan Rotilio
Tina Rush
Dan Young
Dawn Zenner-Gaudi